Church Road, Romford, Essex, RM3 0SH


Harold Court Primary School

Governors at Harold Court 

The Governing Body oversees the conduct, curriculum, standards and budget of the school and has a duty to monitor the way the school is developing.


 Harold Court Governor Code of Conduct 

Harold Court Constitution

Committee Membership Details

Governor Declaration of Interest

Attendance at Governing Body Meetings 2018-2019

Attendance at Governing Body Meetings 2019 -2020

Appointed Term of Office

Head Teacher Governor

Mrs L Hogan-O'Neill

 Duration of post

Chair of Governors  (Co-opted Governor)

Ms Z Lawrence

14th March 2017

Appointed by Full Governing Body

14.03.17 - 12.03.21

Vice Chair of Governors (Local Authority Governor)

Mrs Lesley Mabey

12th December 2018

Appointed by Local Authority

 12.12.18  - 11.12.22

Co-opted Governors

Mrs Sarah Philpotts

Mrs Denise Whalley


17th October 2017

13th November 2018

 10th September 2018

17.10.17 - 15.10.21

13.11.18 - 12.11.22

10.09.18 - 09.09.22

Parent Governors

Mr Paul Haylor

Mrs Amy Mc Carthy

17th October 2018

17th October 2018

Appointed by Parents

17.10.18 - 16.10.22

17.10.18 - 16.10.22


Staff Governors

Mrs D Somers 

1st September 2018

Appointed by Staff




All Governors may be contacted via the school office

Hi I am  Zoe and  I am the Chair of Governors for Harold Court School. I am a Early Years Teacher who currently manages Aardvark Preschool & Nursery next door. I have worked in education for 10 years and have a love for learning. My hobbies include playing hockey for the local Romford team and spending time with my little boy.
My association with Harold Court School reaches back to 5 years ago when we started our journey at Aardvark; since then every September we transition 20 + children into the school. This provides me with good knowledge and experience with the school and staff. My personal areas of expertise are Safeguarding, SEN and Leadership.
I am passionate about making a positive contribution to children’s education and want to help raise standards at Harold Court school - together I believe we can make this happen


My name is Lesley Mabey and I am Vice-Chair of Governors at Harold Court Primary. I am now retired, but worked in education for 20 years, teaching at a number of primary schools across Havering as well as holding a range of Leadership roles. Most recently, I was Head Teacher of a large Primary School in Thurrock and it is this experience and insight that I bring with me to the Harold Court community.

 I passionately believe that every child deserves the opportunity to realise their full potential. For this reason I joined the Governing Body in January of this year, hoping to help provide the balance of support and challenge needed to enable the school to move along the road on its journey towards providing an outstanding education for all.  

 I have always believed that the best educational outcomes are the result of a successful partnership between all elements of the school community: pupils, parents, staff and governors. As such, I place a high value on nurturing close links between home and school, so that we can effectively work together to achieve the best for your child.

Mrs D Whalley

My professional background is in education: I taught for 25 years at different schools in Havering in a variety of roles, taking particular interest in special needs education and literacy intervention programmes.  However I have recently left teaching to further my own studies, and am now researching for a Doctorate in Education at the University of Cambridge.  I am also a Governor at Engayne Primary School.